ABOUT THIS BLOG

This idea came to me a long time ago, to share a little bit of my experience eating, cooking, researching and designing more balanced meal’s combinations. I believe in the healing power of food and think it can be one of the biggest pleasures in life! So why not try to live an equilibrated everyday food regime and enjoy also great food in the way?

Thani means “healthy/ that has a good health condition” in Quechua, an indigenous language used even before the Inca empire in the Andes region of South America and still used today in Peru and other countries. I started as a nutrition consultant a few years ago, and I thought this was a great way to continue doing what I started back then in my beloved Peru.

I’ve gotten used to learning to eat a little bit healthier with time. Of course, I am a food lover and I am beyond excitement when it comes to trying new tastes.  I love to go somewhere new and give myself a treat, having a great time with friends and family.  To me, if we can’t enjoy eating, then life is not entirely complete! But I also think a balance makes the difference and although it’s great to break the rules from time to time, we need an equilibrium in our lives.

It’s alarming how the numbers are rising and statistics point out the inevitable.  We are victims of numerous lifestyle related diseases and the worst is that we are sometimes not aware of this menace.  Diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and cancer, among others, are appearing more and more often and starting to appear in younger people, even in kids! So, why are these diseases on the rise lately? One of the reasons might be the food we get every day.  For example, we see less natural, and more processed food now for people on the go, as we seem to be always rushed and go for the fastest, and sometimes, cheapest way. Unfortunately, sometimes we do not see an invisible and certainly harmful, yet sweet, enemy:  added sugar. And it’s everywhere, even where we wouldn’t imagine.

It’s hard to recognize or realize how easy is to be tempted by an innocent sweet craving or to give in to an easy junk food way out when we are tired or hungry.  And this is the most difficult part, as we are swamped with happy advertisements and products that seem to be harmless to our health. As a matter of fact, consuming these foods will even make us feel cooler, accepted or just good. The truth is that our eating habits and lack of physical activity are playing as a silent enemy against us, and even though we might not see their effects immediately, it’s more likely that they will return in time for payback.  The big question is what can we do about it?

We can start by being more conscious about what we buy and eat. Beginning to read about the nutrition facts and looking for what we need to focus on is vital.  Ingredients used, how much sugar per portion, expiration date, trans fat, cholesterol, etc. are all incredibly vital details that can clue us in to the benefits (or harm) a certain product may provide. Getting informed is the best way to fight against the damage that naivete can play in our food choices. For this reason, I really hope this blog can help you become more aware of what you are eating and how can you improve little by little to make the most of your meals.

Nowadays it’s very hard to choose the healthiest option, and sadly it’s just easier to buy fast food or processed products. Today it’s more convenient, faster and even cheaper sometimes to go with these less healthy options! But in this world, where no one seems to have time for anything, I think that with a little bit of effort, we can establish a routine of making healthier, great tasting foods.

So, I will try to talk a little about healthy food combinations I make here in Japan, and that I’ve created before as well. You can imagine how difficult it is sometimes to stick to a budget and eat healthy, but if can be done in Japan (where a mango cost around $7, if you are lucky!) I think it can be done anywhere!

I will also introduce some superfoods, starting with the Peruvian ones I know so well and their properties, adding some advice to make better and healthier choices when it comes to buying or preparing our meals and snacks. Finally, I will post some of my special treats and how to remake a healthier version of them among other things!

I hope you enjoy reading, and am glad you’ve taken this step to eating healthier and more consciously.

So let’s get this started!  Vamos a empezar!

Leave a Reply

